About us

Management Team

The Commission for Railway Regulation

Commissioner Brian Higgisson is an MSC graduate of UCC whose career has included senior quality assurance, regulatory compliance and supervision roles in both the private and public sectors. Brian has over 18 years’ experience of Irish and EU legislative compliance in the area of health and safety. In the most recent period of his career he has held the post of Assistant Chief Executive Compliance and Prevention in the Health and Safety Authority. In that role he led the development and implementation of both the policy, prevention and compliance functions of the  Health and Safety Authority relating to the highest occupational risk sectors of the economy.

In addition to the Commissioner, the CRR management team comprises:

Mary Molloy, B.E., C.Eng., F.I.E.I., M.C.I.L.T., Deputy Commissioner and Principal Inspector responsible for conformity assessment, certification, and authorisation to place in service.

Anthony Byrne, B.E., M.Sc., C.Eng., M.I.C.E., Principal Inspector responsible for compliance supervision and enforcement

Donal Casey, B.E., M.Sc., C.Eng., M.I.E.I, M.I.O.S.H., Principal Inspector responsible for European and legislative harmonisation.

Caitriona Keenahan, B.B.S., M.B.S., Head of Governance and Regulation and management representative at the European Railway Agency

The management team is supported by a number of Railway Safety Inspectors and an administrative assistant.